attempt # 2

9 Nov

Well, I have survived attempt number 2 and have made it safely to the comfort of my soft bed in my room to write about it. When I say I “survived” the attempt, i am once again reminding you that the idea of cooking, being in the kitchen, and experiencing the grocery store is FOREIGN to me, therefore, i am scared.

This recipe was not as complicated when it came to preparing as was the macaroni. I decided at the last minute that i would run to the store at 5:00,( which is the worst time to go to the store, I have learned by tagging along with my mom.) My parents were preparing dinner already and I thought I could just “whip” up the salad. The cookbooks always use the word “whip” to make the process sound fast and easy. In my case of course, whip probably wasn’t the best word choice.

I run into H.E.B with a list on my phone that calls for one avocado, red onion, cilantro, lime juice, and of course lettuce and tomato. I rush around and grab all of the ingredients, once again having to search forever for cilantro because i still think it looks exactly like parsley. That of course is due to the lack of experience. Once i find everything, wait in the express lane, (doesn’t make sense because it is express), and drive home i realize i have forgotten the red onion. I am pleased to inform you fellow avocado fanatics, that the salad is still quite delicious without red onion 🙂

Once i get home, i rip up lettuce, slice tomatoes, slice avocado, and prepare to make the cilantro lime dressing which probably took the most time because I didn’t know how to squeeze lime juice out of a lime. It called for:

2 teaspoons of chopped cilantro

2 teaspoons olive oil

The juice of 2 limes

Salt and Pepper to taste

By this point, my family is all in the middle of dinner and i am frantically trying to finish the salad. I “whipped” the ingredient together in a bowl and poured it over the salad. I then walked it over to the table with a huge smile.

Now before i post the pictures of my salad, i will make just a few excuses for the appearance.

If i had an ample amount of time instead of waiting until the last minute, i would have chopped the lettuce and avocado into much neater sectors instead of just throwing it in the bowl. Besides that, the salad was fast and easy to make and that means a lot coming from someone who can’t even pick out a head of cilantro in the grocery store.

Dana’s “whipped” up garden salad:

So my salad doesn’t look exactly like the pictures, in fact, it kind of looks like a bunch of mush in a bowl. I must say however, my family enjoyed it and ate it along with their meal.  I could tell they liked this recipe much better than the macaroni. This salad really only took me about ten minutes to make and I’m sure that it would take an expert in the ktichen no time at all. It’s an easy way to spice up a regular salad.

The red onions really would have given the salad an extra kick so don’t forget them when you are purchasing your ingredients. My ingredients all together cost about seven dollars!

This recipe is cheap, easy, and flavorful. If i can do it, you can too!

Leave a Reply

